Hi ,
I might not have searched with the correct wording, but I’d like to switch a few of my accounts from connected to manual, but keep the previous data, and I couldn’t find any info on how to do this or if it is even possible.
Thank you!
Hi ,
I might not have searched with the correct wording, but I’d like to switch a few of my accounts from connected to manual, but keep the previous data, and I couldn’t find any info on how to do this or if it is even possible.
Thank you!
In your tiller console, click the drop down on your linked spreadsheet and uncheck the account you want to make manual. If you want to use the console to track the balances manually, add it manually - this is below your connected accounts. If you don’t want to use the console to manage the balances, add it manually in the spreadsheet. Extensions > tiller money feeds > manual accounts > add manual account. Enter the information and add. This will give the account a different account ID. Your data once added to your tiller spreadsheet does not leave the spreadsheet unless you remove it. If you know you will not want to reconnect that account, you can delete the account from the connection as well.
If you want to back fill the manual account information over your connected account, you can do that so your manual data includes previous connected data. I am not sure if there is a tool for that, but it can be done manually. If you need further details on making the switch, just post what you need specifics for.
Thank you!! I appreciate the help!
Thank you @casilverthorn.96 . Just to add for @penny1 if you’re looking to consolidate your data from the automated feed with that of the manual account you’ve created you can manually edit in the Balance History sheet ,and Transactions sheet as you see appropriate , the Account ID so that it matches across the new and old entries. There are steps here for the Balance History sheet sheet.
For the Transactions sheet there are steps here if you need to make the name uniform between the new and old entries, but the same steps can be applied for Account ID.
I suggest that you ensure you have a good back up of your file before making these major changes.
Are these steps still accurate? I don’t see any check marks in the tiller console when walking through these steps.
Thank you!
I think the new console has rolled out since I posted this. Now when you go into the console and choose accounts, if you click on the gear of the account you want to no longer have connected you can remove connection.Clicking remove will bring up a popup verifying you do wish to disconnect the account. It does assure you the information doesn’t leave the spreadsheet, just the connection. Then you can readd it as a manual account in your console. If you add it in the console, the balances will sync with all your spreadsheets, but the balance must be update via the console to do that.
If you are using direct fills (I don’t have the sidebar fills, so it might be the same for that sheet) and want to verify all is well before actually deleting the connection, you can choose your spreadsheet from the spreadsheets menu on the left, choose linked accounts, then manage links. There you can uncheck the account you want to remove. That will stop the account from filling data into your sheet while you get everything verified and such.
The rest of the steps are basically the same as far as making sure you connect the account information between the connected and manual.
If any of this is unclear, or you need help, just post here,
Thank you - there are still some differneces. Maybe I should explain what I’m attempting in order to get clearer guidance.
I have 2 accounts that I want to completely transfer to manual. Both are closed accounts and fail to update. Additionally, as a final step, these two banks merged, so I would like to replace the older account with the newer bank’s account to consolidate the history, transactions and names. That part.
But, what I see in the Console isn’t clear. When I click on the gear icon, I simply get “Edit Credentials” and “Mute.”
I do have direct fills turned on.
This seems to be a common practice and question - @ashleigh @heather - is this something that is being addressed through the programmatic avenue? This seems like a standard option that should be available since there is the potential to easily flub this up manually entering data.
Thank you!
Okay. I thing I see is for Plaid and Yodlee are two different ways to delete accounts. I was looking at a Plaid connection. For the Yodlee, there is a little trash can and pencil next to the account itself. If I recall, once you delete the last account for that connection, the whole institution is removed. It has been a while since I deleted one.
As for the data within the sheet have you checked the link twalane shared above. The transactions link is incorrect as that addresses a different issue, but you can follow the same idea for cleaning up the transactions.
I am not sure there is a tool that helps with merging two accounts in the transactions. I have always just filtered the data and copy and pasted the new account name and ID to replace the old information. It is a bit tedious, but it only has to be done once. I honestly prefer manual clean up though, so a tool for this might be available.
@jasonccrane we don’t have a “convert to manual” option, but it is something I’d thought about previously. I can definitely see the utility of that and is something I’ll keep in mind for the future.
My recommendation here would be to create the manual account from the Tiller Console, and then use the data clean up tool with this guide’s recommendation as if you were “switching” aggregators for the connection. Essentially you’re switching to a manual connection so it will help you clean up things in your sheet.
Then I’d just mute those connections on the Console so they don’t show up bugging you to be refreshed. Or delete them if you don’t care to keep the historical data in our database for those connections.